In 1744, John Craig married a Miss Russell who had lived in his neighborhood in Northern Ireland. They had nine children, three of whom died in infancy. John Craig served this congregation until his death in 1774. For 34 years he was many things to his congregation and community; he was a builder of churches and a pastor, a Presbyter, a citizen, a husband and father, an educator, and a warm-hearted missionary. The Rev. Craig was laid to rest in the old cemetery.
Between 1817 and 1915, three additional churches were organized from the congregation of Augusta Stone Church: Union, Mt. Horeb, and Spring Hill.
Old Stone Church, as it is now affectionately known, was first remodeled in 1855. The growth of the congregation and the increased enrollment of Augusta Military Academy, whose cadets worshiped in the church from 1865 until the school closed in 1984, made a larger building necessary. Thus, in 1921, transepts were artistically added to the original church building, changing it into its present structure - the form of a cross. The steeple was also added at this time. In 1956 John Craig Hall, the third addition, was built and serves as a fellowship center. The restoration of the sanctuary was initiated and completed in 1968. This remodeling included the rebuilding, enlarging and moving of the Moller pipe organ to the balcony. The high pulpit and sounding board were also added during this restoration. In 1974 Augusta Stone Church was added to the Virginia and National Landmarks Registers.
In 1847 the small stone Session House attached to the north side of the church building was removed and rebuilt in its present location adjacent to the church. During 1975 the Session House was converted into a charming museum which houses items documenting our rich heritage and history.
In 1989-90 Augusta Stone celebrated its 250th anniversary, with various activities highlighting the celebration. A commemorative quilt was made by church members, on which are displayed various scenes from the life of Augusta Stone, and which includes the names of the present members. Also, a time capsule containing the prayers and hand prints of the children of the church was buried on August 19, 1990 and will be opened in the year 2015. Tinkling Spring Presbyterian Church, located in Fishersville, Virginia, Augusta Stone's sister church, also celebrated its 250th Anniversary. The two congregations, originally one, worshiped together in both sanctuaries during the Sesquibicentennial year in celebration of their long heritage and the sharing of their first minister, John Craig.
Augusta Stone church was constructed for the ages. Excellent workmanship and superior quality stone and sand have enabled the building to stand firm. the selfless love and dedication of the generations who have worshiped within the stone walls have made this venerable church truly a house of God.
Compiled by Elizabeth Barry Brown - Updated, 1996 - Approved by Session, July 22, 1990